Review: The Cure for a Crime by Roopa Farooki

IMG_3178

This fast-paced new entry into the MG detective fiction world certainly provides a story to wake you from your post-Christmas snooze and propel you headlong into the New Year.

Featuring super-bright, sassy twin sisters, Ali and Tulip, a grandmother (Nan-Nan) with hidden depths and a pair of frenemy twin brothers, Jay and Zac, the story takes off at a relentless pace and never lets up.

Ali and Tulip’s mother is a junior doctor, and as such, the twins expect her to be exhausted. However, since the instalment of her new boyfriend Brian Sturgeon into their home, mum’s zombie like state is so uncharacteristic that the girls decide to investigate. When their school teacher Mr Ofu exhibits the same symptoms as Mum, and they spot Brian Sturgeon on the school site, the two sets of twins team up to find out what the sneaky Professor, who describes himself as “Britain’s top brain surgeon” is up to.

As they navigate their way around London, the hospital where their mum works, and through school these sisters are never short of a smart reply, excuse or action to smooth their way. A unique aspect of this adventure is that the author, Roopa Farooki, herself a doctor, has infused the story with medical knowledge. The girls exhibit their life-saving skills and the appendix (very appropriate!) contains extracts from their Mini-Medix blog to further add detail. This is completely in character with Tulip’s personality and feels like an intrinsic part of her story.

As for Nan-Nan, she is a force of nature, who does not let her use of an electric wheelchair ( embellished with go-faster stripes) hinder her activities. She is the only character who can anticipate the off-grid activities of her grandchildren, always arrives at the perfect moment and has as many whip-smart replies as any teenager! She also shares the twin’s dislike of Sturgeon the Surgeon but initially tells Ali and Tulip that their mum is depressed rather than having been infected by some diabolical scheme run by the slimy boyfriend. However, once her hidden depths are revealed she puts her former “skills” to work in assisting them uncover the mystery.

This book is perfect for fans of Ruby Redford, Murder Most Unladylike and Alex Rider. Equally appealing to boys and girls, featuring a multi-ethnic cast of characters and strongly showcasing the practical applications of science as well as overflowing with useful facts it is a joy to read. I certainly hope that there will be further MG adventures from the talented Roopa Farooki to come.

I would recommend it for upper KS2 children because one plot twist featuring reproductive medicine will possibly require some discussion which younger children probably will not understand.

 

I am grateful to Kate Scott and OUP Children’s Publishing for sending me a review copy of this book.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Cure for a Crime by Roopa Farooki

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s